top of page

Welcome to the Historical Society of the Northern Territory. The Society is a voluntary organisation managed by a Council annually elected by members and has been continuously operating since 1964.

Membership is open to all individuals, families or institutions with an interest in history, especially Northern Territory history. We are also interested to hear from visitors with a historical interest. The Society operates an annual programme of lectures, outings and rural field trips to places of historical interest. At least three events are held each year; to coincide with the Annual General Meeting; the Patron's dinner; and a Christmas party at the commencement of the holiday break.

The Society is linked to other community history groups around the nation through its membership of the Federation of Australian Historical Societies and is establishing links with other historically active organisations in the Northern Territory, see the .

The Society, after considerable delay, has been awarded Donor Gift Recipient (DGR) status.

All donation to the Society of more than $2.00 can now be tax deductible in the hands of the donor.

All such donations should be labelled 'gift' and should be paid into: 


 BSB: 015896    A/c: 227325272,

Donor's name and contact details are needed for receipt, and can be confirmed to

How to become a member

Membership of the Society means that you will have a vote at General Meetings and receive copies of the Newsletter and Journal. Current copies of these will be sent to you when your membership has been processed.

Subscription rates for     2022     2023 

Family membership:

  two adults at one address:     $70.00       $90.00      

 Individual membership:          $60.00        $70.00   
Concession membership         

        student/pensioner:         $35.00        $40.00                

 Institutional membership         $70.00        $90.00

HSNT Constitution

Download a copy

of the Historical Society of the Northern Territory Constitution 2019. (PDF  file)

outside 2.jpg

 The Society's permanent home 

          History House

Unit 1, 16 Charlton Ct


        The 2022 Council is:

        President                Matthew James

        Vice President         Bev Phelts

        Secretary               Wendy Asche

        Treasurer                Lyn Reid


        Council members:

        Judy Boland  AM         Brian Reid                      Penny Baird                 Dereck Pugh                  Clayton Fredericksen    Ian Anderson

        Libby Seibert


        About our logo

Auld's Compass is used in the Historical Society of the Northern Territory's logo. Auld (from Adelaide) was one of the first surveyors to work in Darwin and the surrounding districts in the 1860s and 1870s. The compass was a gift to the Society.

An important part of the Society's work is the encouragement and publication of local historical research. This is done by two means; the publication of an annual peer reviewed journal, Northern Territory Historical Studies: A Journal of History, Heritage and Archaeology and the publishing and sale of books and  occasional papers. We are also developing some educational resources for schools and students.

The Society's document and photograph collection is now held by, and can be accessed through, the Northern Territory Archive Service and the Northern Territory Library. 

Inquiries, by email or phone, relating to membership, publications, attendance at events, and local history issues are very welcome.




bottom of page